Which way do you think is the best for a student to make new friends? a. joining a sports team, b. participate in community activities, c. traveling.

Connections is the key to bring people together. There are a lot of ways that a person can do to make connections with others. In my opinion, joining a sports team is the best way for students to make new friends among the three ways listed above. I would like to address several points to substantiate my view.

In the first place, attending a sports team is practical compared to traveling or community activities. One reason is that there are always a variety of sports clubs await students to join. Sports are popular among students. For example, there are at least ten kinds of sports clubs in our department, such as badminton, tennis, volleyball, basketball, baseball, and so on. There are also bigger teams composed of students from different departments too. Another reason is that most schools provide adequate equipments as well as facilities for students to play sports. Students can attend sport activities without going off-campus. For instance, the school's gym center is only five-minutes walking from our department. It is really convenient for students to join a sports team because the practicing court is easily reached.

On the other hand, traveling or participating in community activities are not so practical. Students need to go off-campus in order to get to the community or travel to another place. Students have to spend quite a time in academic affairs, so there is not so much time left. Therefore, I would consider these ways of making new friends rather inconvenient.

In the second place, Deeper and stronger relationships between team members are more easy to develop because they share more time together. Team members would practice and face their enemies together. The common experience to overcome difficulties would make their friendships firmer.

Owing to the fact that joining a sports team is more practical to students and students can easily build friendships with team members, I would like to conclude that attending a sports team would be the best choice to make friends for students.