Working Hours

The job we have is a very important part of our lives. It is where we spend most of our time and therefore most of our lives and its outcome affects the society. Some people I'm sure would prefer to have a job where you work five days a week for short hours; others would prefer to have a job where you work only three days a week for longer hours. In my view, working five days a week for short hours in a day would be better than working for three days a week for long hours for two main reasons.

The first main reason is that working fewer hours in a day will increase efficiency. In working days, when you have enough time to rest and to spend some time for your own comfort after your work finishes,you are able to focus better on work and therefore achieve higher efficiency. For example, I used to work for an IT company called "fellan" five days a week for short hours a day. Every other day after work I was able to go swimming or to gym or a yoga session which made me feel much more refreshed the other morning and when I went to work I was full of energy so I was able to work to the fullest. As you can see, I wouldn't be able to work with higher efficiency if it weren't for the fewer hours of work in a day.

Another reason is that, this causes much more job satisfaction in employees. When employees work less hours in a day, they are able to focus more on work and reach better outcome sooner. And when the employers see the good results of their employers' effort they may raise their salary or consider promotion. For instance, last year I was promoted in my work after some successful outcomes of my project which I have been working on continuously during my working hours inside the company. After hearing the news of my promotion I was really thrilled and this made me confident about myself and satisfied about my work. This experience taught me that job satisfaction can be really dependent on the amount of hours I work in a day.

In summary, though some may oppose my opinion, working five days a week for less hours would be great for employees, employers and at last, society. Not only will this plan cause efficiency in work but also this amount of working hours a day could help the employees to be more satisfied of their job. In my opinion, every company and working places should give the option of working more days of week but with less ours a day, to their employees.