Young people today are less dependent on their parents than in the past. Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Gone are the days when young people relied more on their parents than themselves. Today, with the development of modern technology, social media, and transportation systems, the average young person is more independent than ever. Due to the age difference of a parent and their child, the view of life, interests, hobbies may vary. Consequently, the barrier between the generations slowly begins to form, resulting in young people being more independent.

For starters, young people tend to obtain new information from the internet, rather than their parents. With the development of new computers and smarphones, people simply do not need the help of their parents. For example, if a person wants to gain information about a historical artifact, he would ask the internet. But in the past, this sacred information was always told by their ancestors, from one generation to another. Subsequently, due to the abundant amount of knowledge attained from artificial sources, young people become mature very early, which further servers the two generations.

Furthermore, the age gap between young people and their parents is not to be unnoticed. Adolescents relish various activities, savour different ways of life, and most importantly, build their future in their own way. For example, during family arguements, mothers and fathers would usually argue for what they think is right, completely ignoring the opinion of their child. Besides, about a century ago, people were forced to marry others judging on how their parents viewed their child’s relationship. Following this example, it is very important that young people can now decide for themselves, especially when it comes to marriage, moving out of an apartment, or simply enjoying sports activities. Sometimes, it is vital for young people to exclude the opinion of the elderly, since that is the only thing that might be holding a person back.

In conclusion, obtaining the skill of being independent from your family is very much needed. In the past, young people have been brainwashed by the ideal life that their parents might have “planned” for them. But now, due to artificial intelligence and the ability to mature at an early age gives the young a chance to decide for themselves.