Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. Others believe that government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts.

It is widely believed that the art should be free of governmental involvement. However, there are those, who deem that state funding might be beneficial for the art’s development. Personally I contend, that both sides could have a reasonable argumentation, nevertheless I stick to the idea that the art as a sphere should grow and expand without external help.

Art should express feelings and emotions, what is possible only if the main idea, which is covert in this object belongs solely to the author. In other words, the extraneous involvement in the very hast of the art’s idea may spoil its gist and make it biased to some extent. As the example, of the art, which is funded by the state and reflects the governmental agenda is the one in USSR. If one have a chance to visit any of the Russian fine art museum, he or she will found copious of paintings dedicated to the idea of the flourishing and prosperous country. However, on the other hand, in the very same time, when this paintings founded by the totalitarian government have be done, there were many other arts, which were not visible to the public as such crafts were created by the underground painters. It means that the only arts, which Russian could contemplate is that which was sponsored by the governmental institutions.

In the meantime, sometimes the governmental help is crucial, and that might happen if the sphere of art in the country is in the recession. But it is still important that the state belongs to the neutral position when it comes to the arts agenda and it doesn’t have any opportunity to affect it. Moreover, in this case the government could take a role of a sponsor of enlighten program about arts and culture among its citizens. For instance, the could be lectures or free tickets for children on some stage versions of classic novels or ballet.

To recapitulate, the government shouldn’t be involved in the art sphere as it might affect its agenda. However, in some cases its funding is the only way for art to overcome the crisis. Than the state might sponsor art, but still remaining unbiased.