Your friends have the opportunity to choose either one of two types of majors (fields of study), which one of the following two majors do you think is a better choice, and why?

1. A major that would allow him to finish years of study and get a degree sooner (so that he would begin to work full-time quickly).

2. A major that requires many years of study that would provide him with more employment opportunities and offers in the future.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer. Be sure to use your own words. Do not memorize some certain examples.

Choosing major is always considered as a big event in one's career. There is a common question amount high school students who are trying to apply for further study--Should one chooses a major that requires shorter period of study and could help to get a degree sooner, or, on the contrary, to choose a major which requires more years of study and would provide more job opportunities in the future? As a college student myself, I will take the second stance with no hesitation.

Majors that requires longer period of study will shape a student into a more competitive one and, therefore, get it ready for the fiery competitions in the further career. Let's take financial crisis in 2008 for an example. Millions of employees lost their job during the chaos. But people who are highly admitted in their filed merely influenced from it. Imaging you are the head of a company, when you are trying to shorten the budget, are you willing to fire an experienced, talented researchers, or a mediocre, replaceable one? The answer is rather obvious.

Besides, acquiring knowledge is only a one part of the university life, the most significant part is having the chance to work with all those professors who have became the leading authority in their field. People like them are full of experiences and skills which could not be acquired from books or internet. It is even impossible for most of the people to meet them in person. However in the compus, they not only are willing to help you, but also are willing to guide you when you are stuck. Building a good relationship with them will benefit you with no doubt.

Notwithstanding, some may argue that for students who has a tough financial conditions, it is a better choice to work full-time earlier than spend many years in school instead. With a long-term perspective of view, this is just an alleviation instead of a solution. Only those who are well educated can grasp the opportunities in their life and take a leap to the next level. Education is always the base stone for anything else you want to achieve.

In conclusion, a student should always make decisions which will benefit themself in the long term. In stead of hurry into the job career, one should always study as much as possible to become a competitive person in the future.