Your friend has the opportunity to choose either one of two types of majors (fields of study), which one of the following two majors do you think is a better choice, and why?

– A major that would allow him to finish years of study and get a degree sooner (so that he would begin to work full-time quickly). Or

– A major that requires many years of study that would provide him with more employment opportunities and offers in the future.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Be sure to use your own words. Do not memorize some certain examples.

Nowadays, high school students wonder whether it would be better to select a major that allows them to finish their studies sooner and begin to work full-time quickly, or they should peak a major that requires many years of study that give you more job opportunities at the end. In my opinion, a major that requires many years of study would be a better choice because if you have more employment opportunities, it would be less risky to find an appropriate job; besides, you could use the facilities of the university more by spending more time in university. I will illustrate my reasons in the next paragraphs.

First, choosing a major that leads you to more job opportunities would be less risky. Indeed, when you are going to choose a job, if numerous job opportunities be available for you, you can evaluate them and choose the one that you like more than others. Conversely, on the other hand, if you have a few options, you have no choice except choosing one of them even if you don’t like them as much as you expected. For example, when my brother, Mohsen, was going to choose a major, he decided to choose one that allows him to finish his studies sooner because he wanted to find a full-time job and marry as soon as possible. Hence, although he finished his studies very soon and found a full-time job after that, he couldn’t endure the difficulties of his job and seek another job because it wasn’t his favorite job. Indeed, he had just one job opportunity after graduation and he had to peak it. Maybe, if he chose another major that required long years of study he could choose a better job among the available opportunities.

Second, students can use the facilities of the university more by spending more time in university. Undoubtedly, the university is a place that you can enhance your knowledge by learning new things in a fun and academic atmosphere without any concern about the costs. As a result, if you finish your studies soon, you may lose your chance for further learning by using the facilities of the university such as good professors, equipped laboratories, libraries, cheap materials, etc. For instance, when I was a student at university, although I could finish my studies sooner, I decided to slow down and stay more in university because I was invited to work on an experimental project in which the costs were borne by the university. Thus, it was a great chance to learn a lot of new things through doing a scientific project without any cost. Consequently, at the end of the project, I succeeded to submit two scientific papers for a well-known journal. Furthermore, these papers and the experience of working in such a project, helped me to have a better resume that was essential to find an excellent job in a pioneer steel making factory.

Based on the aforementioned reasons, it can be concluded that choosing a major that needs longer studies to finish, would be a better idea.