Your university is located in a community with a struggling economy. The school administration has decided to make it mandatory for each student to volunteer at least 40 hours per year to one of the town’s many volunteer programs. Do you agree or disagree with this policy?

People we meet, connections we make, and work we do are essencial parts of our life. Although some may argue that students should focus all their time on studying, I strongly agree with the policy. I believe that it is an excelent idea to engage studens in voluteering activities. My view is based on social and proffesional grounds, and in the subsequent paragraph, I will suport my major reasons with examples.

To begin with, creating meaningful, fulfilling, and mutually beneficial connections within the community is useful for everybody involved. Moreover, scientific studies recently conducted by psychologists proved that it has tremendous positive impact on mental health to connect with community you live in. My personal experience demonstrates this concept. Few years back, I stuggled with my mental health due to trauma from the past, so my sister suggested that it would be beneficial for me to distract myself by helping in a local dog shelter. As time passed, I established strong friendships with others working there, and because we spent a lot of time together we shared and discussed our problems. Meaningful community engagement helped me to decrease the amount of deppresing feelings and, therefore, it improved my health. It is possible that if this had not happened to me, I would have had different attitude towards this policy.

From a proffesional standpoint, a current job market many times requires working experiece even for a junior or a starting position and, hence, this can cause issues for young graduates to find job offers which suit their education. Therefore, any volunteering, mandatory or not, is a way to provided a leverage for students' future job applications. To illustate, in the second year of my studies I volunteered as astronomy teacher in a local planetarium for a group of children which were between seven and ten years old. I gained a lot of experience not just in teaching but also in managing a group of people, creating interesting activities, and working with funds allocated for the group. This helped me in my recent job interview, they were interested in my experience working in a team and managing coworkers with different backgrounds. If I had not accepted the teaching position, I would probably not have gotten the job I applied for.

In this essay I discussed my personal beliefs that it is and splendid decision for student to volunteer in their community. I feel this way not just because of it helps establish fruitful connections but also because it boosts resume of young graduates.