Your university is located in a community with a struggling economy. The school administration has decided to make it mandatory for each student to volunteer at least 40 hours per year to one of the town’s many volunteer programs. Do you agree or disagree with this policy?

The people we meet, the connections we make, and the work we do are essential parts of our life. Although some may argue that students should focus all their time on studying, I strongly agree with the policy. I believe it is an excellent idea to engage students in volunteering activities. My view is based on social and professional grounds, and in the subsequent paragraph, I will support my major reasons with examples.

To begin with, creating meaningful, fulfilling, and mutually beneficial connections within the community is useful for everybody involved. Moreover, recent scientific studies conducted by psychologists proved that it has a tremendous positive impact on mental health to connect with the community you live in. My personal experience demonstrates this concept. A few years back, I struggled with my mental health due to trauma from the past, so my sister suggested that it would be beneficial for me to distract myself by helping in a local dog shelter. As time passed, I established strong friendships with others working there, and because we spent a lot of time together, we shared and discussed our problems. Meaningful community engagement helped me to decrease the number of depressing feelings and, therefore, improved my health. It is possible that if this had not happened to me, I would have had a different attitude towards this policy.

From a professional standpoint, the current job market many times requires working experience, even for a junior or a starting position, and, hence, this can cause issues for young graduates to find job offers which suit their education. Therefore, any volunteering, mandatory or not, is a way to provide leverage for students' future job applications. To illustrate, in the second year of my studies, I volunteered as an astronomy teacher in a local planetarium for a group of children between seven and ten years old. I gained a lot of experience not just in teaching but also in managing a group of people, creating exciting activities, and working with funds allocated for the group. This experience helped me in my recent job interview; they were interested in my experience working in a team and managing coworkers with different backgrounds. If I had not accepted the teaching position, I would probably not have gotten the job I applied for.

In this essay, I discussed my personal beliefs that it is and splendid decision for students to volunteer in their community. I feel this way not just because it helps establish fruitful connections but also because it boosts the resume of young graduates.