In the 18th century due to industrialization, a lot of people migrated to developed countries. This affected and increased problems in developed countries. What is your opinion about this?

The phenomenon of migration to the developed countries in 18th century has sparked an ongoing controversy, which inevitably lead to the moot question, “did the migration to first world countries on that time due to industrialization increase problems in those countries?” Whereas, it is a widely held view that mass migration in 18th century actually benefited those countries. I will discuss the controversial aspects of that immigration throughout this essay.

In terms of advantage, the industrialization required huge labor force in the field such as heavy metal industry, textile industry and even in the construction industry in developed countries. For instances, the construction of high rise buildings emerged in the United States in 18th century, which demanded huge skilled and unskilled labors in that industry. As a result, the immigration department of foreign ministry invited a lot of people from East European and Asian countries to fill the vacancy in these mega projects.

Another facet worth discussing here is that the increased number of migrated people inspired many local people to start small enterprise, which also boosted the micro economy of those countries. A study conducted by the University of Adelaide revealed that those small businesses contributed up to 5% in the GDP of South Australia in the 18th century at the dawn of industrial booming.

Despite the inevitability of the fact, some people believe that huge social problems raised due to increased population in the developed countries. But, these people overlooked the industrial and economic development that took place by those migrated people. There might happened some problem regarding accommodations, foods etc. at the beginning of that migration; however, I believe the socioeconomic growth the developed countries witnessed due to these on demand migration outweighs the few drawbacks in many aspects.