Nowadays, people spend too much time at work to the extent that they hardly have time for their personal life. Discuss.

Recently the phenomenon of spending too much time at work has sparked an ongoing controversy, which inevitably leads to a moot question, “is over staying at work beneficial for the personal life?” Whereas, it is a widely held view that spending additional time at work may hamper professional and personal life. I will discuss the controversial aspects of spending extra time in office work throughout this essay.

In terms of career prospect, a huge number of qualified people against limited number of work places makes the corporate recruitment most challenging; therefore, professionals need to give extra time and effort to ensure their sustainability in the company. Furthermore, to meet the customers’ demands, executives need to complete the deal on time even at the cost of their valuable family time. For instance, as a professional engineer, I need to work day and night without any time limit once project handover date is nearby.

Despite the inevitability of the fact, over working causes a lot of physical crisis such as depression, insomniac, back pain etc. which may affect the personal life as well as the working life. Additionally, due to spending less time with family, the bonding among family members gets loosen which may leads to even separation between couples. Children who do not get proper attention from their working parents are gone astray in often cases.

Therefore, the employers must develop balanced work-life policy to ensure their employees’ healthy life, as employees are the backbone of the business. We also should be careful to maintain our work life harmony, and I believe, this is the only way to make our happy professional and personal life.