In academic studies, grouping students according to academic abilities is good or not good? Give your opinion?

Of late, there has been a colossal upsurge among the prodigies discussing the grouping of students on the basis of their academic performance. Some people think that students of similar caliber should be not combined in a same classroom, while others maintain that student of similar academic standards should be grouped together. This essay will discuss that why student of similar academic competency should be grouped together.

At the outset, there are myriad of arguments associated with grouping students of similar academic grades. Firstly, the most conspicuous is that environment deeply effects the academic performace of the student. Therefore, a class of students with higher academic grades will compel the pupils to burn midnight oil and produce excellent grades to compete with their class fellows. As an example, higher grade students grouped together will seek motivation from their other classmates and out in extra efforts to maintain their standards. As a result, student’s in a competetive environment will not only produce marvellous results but also maintain excellent standards.

On the other hand, another pivotal facet of this argument is that the performance of an outshining student will start to deteriorate if grouped in a class of low graded students. As it would be quite easy for the student to score good grades with a very little effort. Hence, an outstanding student will not only utilize his skills to the best but also lower his mental aptitude. For instance, there is quite a likelihood that a bad company might astray good student from the right path. As a matter of fact, grouping good students with lower graded pupil will have drastic effect on their academic performance.

To recapitulate, foregoing discussion propounds that grouping students of similar caliber would develop a competetive environment and make them stick on the right path.