Age discrimination occurs when a decision is made on the basis of a person’s age. In the workplace, these are most often decisions about being employed in the first place, winning promotions or being unfairly dismissed. Should discrimination against older workers be made illegal?

Often discrimination happens on the basis of color, caste, sex etc., but age discrimination generally happens in the workplace or somewhere else. Moreover, age discrimination against older people should be made illegal.

Firstly, there is no age bar for learning, similarly, being bias against the person's age is not acceptable. That particular person is also contributing his sweat in the task and should be treated equally with other employees or members working in the same position. If in a marketing company, a person who works in the middle management as a manager should be treated fairly as the manager in another department. As a result, there shouldn't be additional benefits given to a handicapped or an elderly person.

Secondly, if you are providing some company benefits to an individual then the liquidity of that company might get hampered. Furthermore, there would be lethargy among the existing employees and eventually, the company would suffer a huge loss. If, for instance, a MNC provides monthly pension and bonus to an elderly person, then the contribution of that person towards the company would not be efficient as it should be. There should be utmost discipline in the functioning and the rules of a workplace.

Sometimes this might not be the case but mostly discrimination occurs on the basis of a person's age. In my opinion, all people should be treated equally where it is important and not on lame decisions