Tobacco, mainly in the form of cigarettes, is one of the most widely-used drugs in the sorld. Over a billion adults legally smoke tobacco every day. The long term health costs are high – for smokers themselves, and for the wider community in terms of health care costs and lost productivity.

Do governments have a legitimate role to legislate to protect citizens from the harmful effects of their decisions to smoke, or are such decisions up to the individual?

Our economy is getting addicted to cigarettes and other harmful drugs day by day. On the contrary, these people are aware about the ill effects of smoking, still they tend to smoke tobacco every day. In my opinion, both the parties have a vital role to play in curbing this problem.

Firstly, governments should put their foot down on the restriction policies and rules. As a result, teenagers are also becoming a prey to this deadly habit. Moreover, they encourage their peers to do the same. For example, their was a recent report on how the senior school students encouraged their juniors to try smoking tobacco. Eventually, they ended up in hospital because they couldn't handle the situation. Therefore, governments should impose some stricter laws to protect the citizens of our community.

Secondly, one should realize that the smoke emitted from the tobacco is harmful for the community, especially for the children and elderly people. The children and the old people are in a crucial stage of life where they should be properly nurtured and taken care of. In a recent study, it has been proven that most of the old people are sick due to the smoke emissions from tobacco. A smoker should look into the problems which affect the community at large.

Drugs are increasing enormously everyday and the people are ignoring this blindly without knowing the long term costs. To conclude, the government and an individual, both have certain responsibilities that they need to fulfill on their behalf.