Tobacco, mainly in the form of cigarettes, is one of the most widely-used drugs in the sorld. Over a billion adults legally smoke tobacco every day. The long term health costs are high – for smokers themselves, and for the wider community in terms of health care costs and lost productivity.

Do governments have a legitimate role to legislate to protect citizens from the harmful effects of their decisions to smoke, or are such decisions up to the individual?

In this burgeoning epoch of convincing people to give up smoking, a contemporary human dwells in a world which is shaped by the latest trends and approaches coming across the globe points for years. The opponents and proponents have their perceptual intellection to support their ideas. Before deducing a fair conclusion, I am going to shed some light on both the aspects in the upcoming paragraphs.

According to the first school of the thought, many people say that the government can play a vital role to raise awareness among the citizens of the country against the harmful effect of smoking tobacco. Apart from that, to aware masses about the deadly effects of smoking, the government can use cigarette packaging to display its ill effects. In addition to it, the government can apply strict rules and regulations to counter smoking.

However, few others believe that it is ultimately the person who smokes a cigarette. They believe that the smoker has to understand the harmful effects of smoking tobacco. Last but not least, to ban the tobacco products the smoker must cut the consumption of smoking cigarette then there would not be any demand for it.

To prorate, after having lots of thoughts and deliberations with myself on this topic, I inclined to state that yes protect from such products also lies with an individual’s willpower but we cannot ignore the fact that the solution requires both legitimate action of Government and individuals to end the problem.