Age discrimination occurs when a decision is made on the basis of a person’s age. In the workplace, these are most often decisions about being employed in the first place, winning promotions or being unfairly dismissed. Should discrimination against older workers be made illegal?

Recently, in most countries age discrimination happens during hiring, promoting and dismissing process which may lead the organization to a kind of inequality for youngsters as well as elderly people. In this essay, we will discuss the harmful effects of age discrimination on employees.

First and for most, psychologists believe that age discrimination in the organization would cause employees to become less innovative. That means the more discriminate the less innovation of employees reveals. So as a result of that the productivity of workers reduces dramatically and this, in turn, affected the company economy as well.

Second discrimination affected the employees' perception of fairness and equality. Based on Harvard University investigations, discrimination occurs in a company has a significant impact on employees' beliefs about equality and fairness. Therefore, the company changed into a disgusting place for work and there is no satisfaction remains for employees and after a while, they might lose their incentive or their motivation.

In conclusion, age discrimination is a detrimental behaviour which a company might have to its human resource. Generally, In my point of view, corporate concentration on productivity and creativity would be more beneficial than focus on age or other demographic characteristics such as age, religion, gender and so on.