In a cashless society, people use more credit cards. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this phenomenon?

One of the most conspicuous trends of today’s word is a colossal upsurge in people solely depending on bankcards, be it debit or credit cards. As such there are both merits and demerits of this trend, although I am of the opinion that the former will outdo the latter.

There are a myriad of arguments in favour of cashless society. The most preponderant one is that people can enjoy the convenience of carrying a bankcard and pay upfront easily. Not only can an individual feel safe by carrying cashless cards, but business can also save time by not handling cash and stay safe by not keeping cash on the premises. Although businesses have to pay minimum amount of service fee to the bank, in long run they will be in profit, as they do not have to pay extra wages for handling the cash. Needless to say, all these merits stand on business as far as convenience is concerned.

There are, however, some pitfalls that can easily overwhelm the potential benefits of cashless society. The primary one stems from the fact that thanks to payments made from bankcards, business are losing money because of fraud customers and insufficient funds in their bank account. Besides, there is risk of database being hacked by number computer hackers. Hence, it is apparent why many people are against cashless society.

In view of the arguments outlined above, one can conclude that despite few drawbacks of bankcards, its advantages are indeed too great to ignore.