In a cashless society, people use more credit cards. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this phenomenon?

In this day and age, credit cards are a boon to the modern society, shops and numerous institutions are extensively using it throughout the world. Recently, a phenomenon of accepting credit cards for all purposes sparked a heated debate. Various people think that the usage of credit card delivers significant advantages but opponents believe otherwise. This essay will illustrate the merits and demerits of credit cards in today’s cashless society.

Firstly, with the advancement of technology paper money has been replaced by the plastic money. Credits cards are easy to carry and reduce the weight of wallets. Consequently, seamless financial transactions save time and money. Secondly, a credit card allows the government to print less paper money which results in saving lots of trees. For example, as per a study conducted by Reserve Bank of India (RBI), in 2018, almost 60% of Indians are using credit cards for daily shopping and other financial transactions.

On other hand, credit cards give freedom to make unnecessary transaction further impacting the shopping habits of the customers. Furthermore, various people who use credit card carelessly goes under financial debt. In addition to that, rural areas still lack the technical advancement and customers are not tech-savvy, hence credit cards are restricted.

In recapitulate, as per above statements aforementioned, it is safer to assert that credit cards have changed the world and several economies. Thus, advantages of credit cards can always outweigh its demerits. I am highly inclined to believe that credit card’s contribution to the cashless society is tremendous but usage is dependent on customer’s discretion.