In recent years, weather certain kind of music can help students learn has sparked a heated debate. The fact that music plays a vital role in the lives of myriad people all over the world is undeniable. While some researches show the results are mixed, some people believe that music provides an environment that enhances learning and helps students concentrate. In my opinion, I am inclined to believe in the later and I will elaborate my points in the following essay.

To begin with, certain kinds of music uses the elements of rhythm, melody and harmony through voices and instruments to help students concentrate and increase their motivation. According to one of the academic surveys which I conducted when I was in university, I discovered that 55% of primary students who expose to classical music at their young ages achieved higher academic grades and later become more successful in their lives. Hence, music strengthens young children’s learning ability by helping them focus and be motivated at what they do.

Furthermore, some kinds of music help young children relax in stressed situation and provide positive learning experience, such as those played during meditation and yoga. For instance, researchers from National Association for Music Education played music in the background while young children are doing their final exam. They found out 74% of kids had positive impact from that experience as majority indicated that music keep them claim. Thus, beneficial effects of music can be seen in from those in stressed situations.

In conclusion, although some researches showed the results are mixed, majority of youths enjoy having music play in the background while they study as it increases their concentration power and helps them go ahead.