Expansion of cities is inevitable, due to rising population and migration of people to major cities. There is an ongoing debate whether governments should improve public transport network or construct better road infrastructure to facilitate car ownership. This essay will discuss why governments should focus on the public transport, as well as roads to cater the needs of expanding cities.

Governments should introduce various means of transportation for people residing in outer-suburbs of cities. Public should be able to choose from buses or trains, whatever is more convenient to them. For instance, a person may choose bus over train, if bus is more closer to his house. A survey conducted by an university showed that 80% people will opt for public transport if network is efficient. Therefore, governments should put focus on building better public transport network.

Building better road infrastructure can save time for people, who do not have access to public transportation. For some people driving their own car is much more convenient. For example, I prefer to use my own to go-to office because I do not have any access to public transport. Hence, governments should keep in mind those people who need roads for commute.

In conclusion, governments should tackle the issue of expansion of cities by constructing better roads and efficient public transport network. In my opinion, governments should spend equal amount on both public transport and roads.