The claim that animals have rights has been subject of much debate since the 1970s. Are zoos helping or hurting our animals?

should be banned? Do you agree or disagree?

Animal rights are increasingly entering our discussion. While some skeptics may maintain the notion that zoos are hurting animals, there are considerable explanations behind why zoos can help animals. This essay will discuss why zoos are beneficial to species and assert that zoos should not be prohibited.

There are various reasons why animals may get hurt in zoos. For instance, animals may be indulged in zoo by manual feeding and their instinct skills of hunting are eventually lost. Some animals such as tigers and lions do in fact face difficulties on rehabilitating from national parks to the nature. Having said that, the percentage of such occurrences is relatively insignificant.

On the other hand, there are various reasons why zoos can help animals. Some species are targets of illegal hunting and, as a result, these animals are endangered. It is well-known that, by keeping pandas in zoos, scientists have saved these rare mammals in China. Therefore, zoos are intuitively perceived as shelters for endangered species.

Given that zoos have their significance on protecting animals from extinction, in my opinion, zoos should not be banned.

In conclusion, some people may think zoos deter animals from learning life skills, and this violates animal rights, but I believe zoos have important roles to play on protecting wildlife. Therefore, they should not be banned.