The claim that animals have rights has been subjected as a matter of debate since the 1970’s. Are zoos helping or hurting our animals? Should zoos be banned?

Many people think that animals have right to live freely in their natural habitat. However, in order to spread knowledge about these creatures, we need zoos. This essay will discuss about role of zoo in our society in more detail with relevant examples.

Firstly, today many species are on verge of extinction and today's generation do not have knowledge of such creatures. Hence, to spread knowledge of such animals, zoo plays critical and vital role. People can learn and know about these animals and can get idea of their natural habitat, their food and other traits. For instance, many zoos in the World have Asiatic Lion in captivity which help zoos to spread essential knowledge of this predator who is listed in the endangered category. Hence, Zoos play vital part to connect humans with animals.

Secondly, many people think that condition of today's zoos is very poor and animals live in congested space. However, today all zoos in the World, strictly monitored by government body and it does not allow any minor loophole inside the zoo. Apart from that, many zoos organize various events and workshops for children and college students to guide them to preserve ecosystem around their neighborhood. For instance, with extensive efforts from all zoos in India, today population of Asiatic Lion increased significantly.

In conclusion, zoos create bridge between wildlife species and humans and they play vital role to preserve ecosystem in its natural form.