The claim that animals have rights has been subjected as a matter of debate since the 1970’s. Are zoos helping or hurting our animals? Should zoos be banned?

Animals in zoos looks extremely fascinating and attractive but It has been argued from long time that animals are also have some rights and they belong to certain place like jungles and should not be kept in the zoos. I believe, by keeping animals in zoos, we are hurting them in place of helping them. I will discuss further in this essay that zoos are hurting animals instead of helping them and will elaborate why zoos should be banned.

Firstly, animals in zoos are away from their home. Jungle is there home, and that is where they behave in their true way. But, in zoos we isolate them from lots of things which they can have in jungle. Though we provide them food on time, but they are not free to go anywhere. We bound them to one place and hence we can say that we are hurting them instead of helping them.

Secondly, zoos have become a popular tourist place. Zoo owners earn money from zoo but they do not provide facilities to animals as per their need. We heard news of dying animals due to diseases so many times. Animals diseases can be treated with the money they make by entertaining people. But they do not get such perks in the zoos. So, there is not benefits for the animals in the zoos.

To sum up, zoo is not animals place, we are hurting them by keeping them in zoos and zoos should be banned as they are not capable of taking care of animal’s needs.