Completing university education is thought by some to be the
best way to get a good job. On the other hand, people also say
that getting experience and developing soft skills is more
important.
Choose which position you most agree with and discuss why
you chose that position. Support your point of view with details
from your own experiences, observations or reading.
We all need to work and gaining experience and knowledge will ensure
that we are useful employees or business owners. Whether you
complete a degree or learn the soft skills while working is a choice we
all must make. This essay will discuss why choosing university first is a
better option in the long term.
University study will help set you up for a professional career with a
recognised qualification. It is possible to develop an academic
understanding of a career while studying as an undergraduate and then
post graduate student. For example, teachers study at university to
understand teaching theory and practice. Becoming a professional
requires learning before a person can practice in that profession.
Working can help you build important interpersonal skills as well as give
you practical and useful knowledge and experience. Learning on the job
can give you enough training to master the requirements of the job. For
example, airline stewards, retail workers, tradespeople, office
managers, do not attend university but learn skills that that enable them
to work. In other words, learning the skills specific to a real job can pay
off for many people.
This essay argued that gaining a university qualification can set a
person up with a long-term career, while learning skills in a real job can
create a career as well. In my opinion, study at university can give you
the opportunity to develop critical thinking and build a career based on
your interests.