Do you think consumer should avoid over packed products or it is
responsibility of producer to avoid extra packaging of products?" Give
your views or any relevant example with your own experience.
Over packaging of products has become a trend in today's competitive world.
Producers are trying to attract consumers with attractive packaging of their products,
not bothered about its negative impact not only on our environment but the users as
well. It should be the responsibility of the producers to limit the wastage of the
resources in the form of un-necessary packaging.
The cost of over packaging is actually added to the product sold. In fact, at
times it is seen the packing cost and durability is more that the product itself. The type
of packaging found in pharmaceutical industries can be taken as an example here. Pills
and tablets are found to be packed in much bigger and colorful strips than needed.
Does this increase the sale of medicine? No. Such packaging is of no concern to the
consumers. But, the cost of medicine would have definitely been lesser if sold in a
simple outlook.
Further, the material used is mostly non-disposable which adds to the
environmental pollution to a great extent. Snacks and other food items packaged in
eye-catchy shimmering colored packets are consumed in a large scale by everybody.
These packets are really difficult to dispose as they emit poisonous gas if burnt and if
not can be seen to contaminate water somewhere. Producers should realize the
importance of using materials like paper and stick to simple packaging.
To conclude, I believe it is the responsibility of the consumers to refuse
products that are over packed as ultimately they are on the losing side.