The main purpose of public libraries is to provide books and they shouldn’t
waste their limited resources and space on providing expensive hi-tech media
such as computer software, videos and DVDs. To what extent do you agree or
disagree with this statement?
One of the most conspicuous trends of today’s world is equipping libraries with such expensive media as
DVDs and computer softwares along with increasing their collection of books. There is a widespread worry
that this will only lead to a myriad of problems for libraries in catering to readers’ requirements. In my
opinion, this apprehension is unwarranted and so should be rejected.
There are a number of arguments in favour of investing money by libraries on electronic media storage. The
most preponderant one is that the way people now read books and attain knowledge is no longer the same
as it was even a decade or two earlier, prior to the advent of hi-tech media. Not only can readers store
hundreds of e-books, electronic copies of paper-based books, in a single device like e-book readers and
tablet devices, but they can also retrieve these books later and read them more conveniently without
worrying about carrying them. Needless to say, it is high time libraries should also utilise this technological
advancement and offer both the hard as well as the soft copies to readers. It should be mentioned here
that technology also allows the libraries to ensure that the books can be accessed only for a certain period
and can be copied to no other device, thus helping to avoid piracy and copyright concerns.
Another pivotal aspect of CDs and DVDs is that they can help elaborate something more clearly and
effectively with the audio-visual effects they have. Besides, by using computer software instead of a heavy
encyclopedia or dictionary, learners can grasp things promptly, augment their knowledge successfully and
broaden their horizons efficiently. Hence, it is apparent why many are in favour of libraries’ using
state-of-the-art technological devices.
From what has been discussed, one can conclude that an immense change in people's reading habit
stemming from the advent of technological media sources demands that libraries allocate significant
amount of money on keeping CDs, DVDs and software as well as on maintaining a rich collection of books.
This will not only cater to the need of growing number of young learners that prefer these new forms of
media to the conventional ones, but also benefit learning enormously.