Computer technology has more of a negative impact than a positive impact on the society. Do you agree?

On the one hand, critics may point out that one of the most significant benefits of computer technology is the availability of extra time. For example, mother, unlike in the past, now have more time to spend with their families, as less time is spent doing their house chores, thanks to efficient household machinery.

On the other hand, there are several argument in favour of my stance. One of the most preponderant ones is that computer dependency has negative consequences for the community in various ways. Firstly, people are losing their jobs because of machines are increasingly taking over the roles of humans, such as in the car manufacturing sector. According to “Time Magazine December 2017 edition”, the proportion of Americans employed in manufacturing has dropped down from 30 per cent to 10 per cent today. Secondly, a large portion of human population has lost enthusiasm because of computer technology and is increasingly becoming lazier and less efficient.

Lastly, in my opinion, the government of india is taking a great initiative in educating its citizens against the negative impact of computer technology . Citizens are being encouraged to spend a significant portion of their time in physical activity like games and exercise, to compensate for their computer.

One can conclude that despite having some benefits, the drawbacks of computer technology in the society are indeed too dire to ignore.