In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society?

Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

These days, with the steadily growing progress of science and technology, human life expectancy has significantly increased in some countries. Despite this positive development, it causes a variety of problems for individual citizens and the community in general. However, the situation can be dealt with by taking certain measures. This essay will explore some of these issues in detail and propose two related solutions to address them.

First and foremost, there is no doubt that with longevity, social costs of caring for aged population will inevitably increase, which will consequently lead to a rise in the tax burden for the next generation. As a result, governments may be forced to spend more taxpayer money on the social security and medical care of these people. For example, during the COVID-19 pandemic, communities around the world have had to spend extra money to protect the most vulnerable population – the elderly. The answer is for authorities to modify retirement programs by extending pension schemes and therefore reducing the pressure on society’s economy.

Another problem linked with growing number of senior people is that the employment of individuals will be at risk if there is no age limit for working in certain areas. The older generation tends to stay in workplaces for a long period of time, reducing the chances for the younger ones. To tackle this issue the government should invest in new technologies to create new fields of work. With new technologies, new jobs appear thereby plugging a potential employment hole.

In conclusion, although rising life expectancy produces an increase of taxes for society and unemployment for younger individuals, there are still feasible measures. By modifying retirement programs and investing in new technologies, the government can considerably reduce the impact of ageing populations.