Do you think consumer should avoid over packed products or it is responsibility of producer to avoid extra packaging of products? Give your views or any relevant example with your own experiences.

Over packaging of products has become a trend in today's competitive world. Producers are trying to attract consumers with attractive packaging of their products, not bothered about its negative impact not only on our environment but the users as well.

It should be the responsibility of the producers to limit the wastage of the resources in the form of un-necessary packaging. The cost of over packaging is actually added to the product sold. In fact, at times it is seen the packing cost and durability is more that the product itself. The type of packaging found in pharmaceutical industries can be taken as an example here. Pills and tablets are found to be packed in much bigger and colorful strips than needed. Does this increase the sale of medicine? No. Such packaging is of no concern to the consumers. But, the cost of medicine would have definitely been lesser if sold in a simple outlook.

Further, the material used is mostly non-disposable which adds to the environmental pollution to a great extent. Snacks and other food items packaged in eye-catchy shimmering colored packets are consumed in a large scale by everybody. These packets are really difficult to dispose as they emit poisonous gas if burnt and if not can be seen to contaminate water somewhere. Producers should realize the importance of using materials like paper and stick to simple packaging.

Packaging as seen increases the cost of the product and also makes our environment unhealthy. So, this packaging boom should be checked on a serious note by the producers. Moreover, the producers should be restricted with predefined rules and parameters set by the government. It is also recommended that an awareness among the users that quality of the product is important rather than the attractive packaging.