Do you think that formal written examinations are a good way to assess knowledge at school?

Formal written examinations are a good way to assess knowledge at school has always been a debatable topic. Many people believe that evaluation can be done by continuous assessment of their assignment work and project works. On the other side, benefits associated with formal examinations are high compared to traditional exams. In my opinion, I completely agree that conducting exams through annual examinations is the best method to judge student capability. This essay would further elaborate both sides with justifying reasons and thus lead to a plausible conclusion.

To commence with, most of the homework done by students are completed by their parents. A study by the Education Department of India proved that many parents help their children in the completion of their assignments. Not only this, projects are copied from other fellow students in order to submit the task on time. Thus, it is clear that it is not a reliable method to judge students' capabilities.

On the flip side, the examination that is conducted in educational institutions makes students to learn the concept and memorize the content what they have studied in the classroom. Moreover, these exams are conducted in presence of invigilator and that restricts them to take any external help. This formal written assignment shows how much grasping power does an individual have. Therefore, yearly exams are considered as one of the most reliable methods to test one's ability.

To conclude, looking at the discussion it is clear that advantages of written formal assessment outweigh the advantages of testing by assignments and project work. I personally believe that written examination method should be implemented across the globe and it is estimated that in near future many countries will adopt this method of assessment because of its effectiveness.