Recently the phenomenon of taking formal written examinations and its corresponding impacts has sparked a heated debate. Although contested by many that this way of assessing knowledge at school cannot be highly beneficial, such an issue regarded as thoroughly constructive and positive by a substantial number of individuals. I am inclined to believe that practical assessment can be a plus, and I will analyze that throughout this essay.

To begin with, there are various reasons to dismiss formal written examinations. At first, written tests enforce the students to study all the lessons related to the exam and learn their lessons. However, the written assignments are very beneficial for the students' future. For example, the theoric examinations of lessons like chemistry cannot teach practical use of this remarkable science to students.

In addition, many sciences such as chemistry, physics, and computer need to be learned in laboratory and workshop. Written exams are suitable for lessons like geography and casual lessons that are not necessary for the future of students. For instance, a recent scientific research has shown that practical examination makes students able to learn important parts of knowledge needing for their life in later.

In conclusion, while there are several compelling arguments on this topic, I profoundly believe that the drawbacks of written examinations are far outweighed their benefits.