Education system that assess the student's learning by written exam is correct? Discuss your view?

It has been acknowledged that written exam has been one of the effective methods to evaluate how much the students have learnt and understood from the course while some people might think giving students assignments is another good way to help them with their education. I personally believe written exam is a more useful way for teachers to assess their students ' performance than just simply giving them homework to do. In this essay, I am going to justify why I agree with it with more details.

To begin with, doing an exam on paper has been used widely for so long time by teachers in the school. If it is not effective it would have been phased out in the past and will not still exist in this era. Therefore, time can prove that doing a paper exam in school has been one of the successful measures to assess students. Moreover, carrying on the exam by a written test in the class will give students the feeling of seriousness and nervousness so they will take it more seriously. In addition, if teachers do not practice a written exam and just give their students assignment to do at home. Some students might ask other to complete the tasks for them, which you never know.

However, in one hand, written exam might lead to more stress and anxiety for students to carry, in the other hand, students will have an opportunity to overcome the stress and the right amount of the stress could stimulate their capability and push them to the higher level and gain the confidence from the exam.

In conclusion, I strongly agree that written exam is not just a correct method that helps teachers to assess their students but also it is an effective way that has been proved by the past years.