Education system that assess the student's learning by written exam is correct? Discuss your view?

There has long been much contention about the evolution of teaching methods, its effectiveness and growing emphasis on methods to assess a learner’s performance. Formal written examination is used widely as one of the effective assessment methods. While some people believe that this method usually reflects student’s learning capability on paper, others think otherwise. In my opinion, I would say that it is the most effective method compared to other existing ones in assessing students' academic performances.

To begin with, formal assessment is systematic, a pre-planned efficient method that is being used in the education system for many centuries. This method is helpful for teachers to see how much students have learned throughout their coursework and provides an insight into each student’s learning abilities. In our contemporary school systems, formal written examinations are organized at fixed intervals such as quarterly, half early and annual to assess the level of knowledge in students and in the case of failure, they are made to repeat the class. In addition, formal examinations are a better way to test the memory of a student and their grasping power.

One of the significant benefits of written examination is that it is the only way to stop students from cheating via other forms of examination. For instance, student’s take home assignment could be easily completed by others, hence will not reflect their actual knowledge. Furthermore, formal written examination allows the students to demonstrate their individual knowledge in their exams. Often student feels little nervousness and stressed when they take part in an important exam. However, coping with this stress and anxiety at this level would eventually help them to overcome fear at the later stage of their professional life. Had examination not been imposed in school, students would not have been motivated to pay attention in class. Hence, it is strongly believed that written examination should be the appropriate formal assessment for children.

In conclusion, it is clear from all the aforementioned points that through formal written examinations, educators get a view of children who require informed assistance. In particular, the early diagnosis of deviation in student’s attributes and pedagogical methods of teaching makes it possible to identify and address the weaknesses before they become irremediable. Therefore, I strongly believe that formal written examination is the utter most appropriate method to assess students' academic knowledge effectively.