In the past 100 years, there have been many inventions such as antibiotics, airplanes and computers. What do you think is the most important of them? Why?

State your opinion and support it with reasons and/or examples from your own experience or observations.

The world has become a better place with inventions such as antibiotics, airplanes and computers. There are people who would single out any of these three inventions as the single biggest achievement of mankind in the past 100 years. Although, there can be vehement arguments made for all three inventions, this essay will discuss why I think the invention of antibiotics supersedes the other inventions.

There are several reasons why the advent of Antibiotics changed the face of evolution and mankind. One of them is that the average life expectancy of people increased drastically. The average life expectancy before antibiotics was around 35-38 years. It can be argued that most people before the advent of antibiotics succumbed to diseases such as cholera, malaria, small pox, measles etc. Thanks to antibiotics, the average life expectancy as per 2011 census is about 65 years.

Despite all these, there are some people who think that computers and airplanes are more important than antibiotics. Yes, definitely the invention of airplane has made transport easier and been responsible to decrease travel time around the world. Computer has played a pivotal role in almost all fields of communication and technology thereby increasing the pace of globalization.

Not intending to downplay the contribution of computers and airplanes in transforming mankind, I am of the opinion that antibiotics by far exceeds in importance and relevance to mankind.