Some people believe laws change human behavior. Do you agree with it?

Law, in general, is written rules and regulations that are meant for people in a society. Law was created, and intended, to guide and shape the behaviors of humankind. In my opinion, law affects people’s behavior either directly or indirectly. I believe the punishment or reward associated with the system of law causes people to change their behavior.

To begin with, laws are developed to discipline the society. To maintain such a control, rules are formulated to prevent all offences and punishments for every social and personal transgression, so that crimes once committed are not repeated again. An acute system like this is much needed to thwart crimes. Moreover, the consequences of obeying or disobeying laws impact people in their everyday lives. Thereby, law influences how people behave with others in a society. Breaking the law would mean trouble. This fear of consequences makes people behave better. For example, earlier ‘male homosexual acts’ were a crime in many nations but now people are accepting gay members as it has made legal by the law. Another example is that the law ensures women’s rights makes the women feel equal and safe in a society thus bringing a positive change in their behavior.

Laws are the strongest tools to maintain propriety in a well-functioning democracy. Without them, a society may become chaotic. There are many countries in the world where the 'rule of the gun' is the norm. For instance, terrorist attacks are rife by the group Boko Haram in Nigeria. Also, there is the case of Somalia, which is the world epicenter of sea-piracy attacks. Had these countries stricter law enforcement, the people of these regions wouldn't be involved in such barbaric activities. On the other hand, there are countries such as Singapore, where citizens are indoctrinated with a respect for the laws since a very young age. The people there have an inherent respect for the existing regulations. Also, the fine for law-breaking is so severe, that out of fear, denizens wouldn't risk circumventing or subverting them.

In my opinion, there are many ways through which laws affect the behavior of a person. In our day to day life, we as a citizen of a country are supposed to follow its laws which are meant for our betterment. Following the law in our daily life induces it in people’s habit which in turn affects behavior of a person. For instance, driving a car is accompanied by the rules that are defined in a state’s law. To avoid punishment or fine, it becomes a person’s habit to fasten seat belt or follow speed limit or stop when traffic light signal is red. This shows that the fear of punishment stops people from going against the law.

In conclusion, as a result of facing possible penalties, people are forced to behave responsibly and do well to other and society. In this sense, laws do influences people behavior significantly. The law constantly changes our behavior and perception toward many things in our daily lives consciously and unconsciously.