In the past 100 years, there have been many inventions such as antibiotics, airplanes and computers. What do you think is the most important of them? Why?

Over the past 100 years, human kind has progressed tremendously with the inventions like antibiotics, airplanes, computers and many more. From the era of wheels to the era of computers, we have come a long way. Although all three of the innovations have shaped our lives, in my view antibiotics is the most important invent for the past 100 years. In this post, I will further explain my view point with valid examples.

It would have been very hard for the human civilization to progress further without these miracle drugs. Antibiotics were not present 100 years ago. Penicillin was discovered in 1928 by Scottish scientist Alexander Fleming and it was the era of the 1940s that people began using antibiotics to treat infections. Since then it has been recognized as one of the greatest inventions of the 20th century.

The longer survival of human kind could have been possible with advancement in medical science. Earlier measles, small pox, even flu could turn out to be fatal. The viruses and bacteria which are invisible to the human eye cannot be destroyed by any tool. Before antibiotics, bacterial infections and common illnesses, such as strep throat, poses serious health issues. They are now easily treated.

Survival is the ultimate goal of the human race and to fulfill this goal we began hunting, discovered wheels and fire. We further invented tools for easy preying. When survival becomes less of a concern we started focusing on discovering luxury pursuits like airplane and computer.

To conclude, I believe antibiotic is the most important invent for the past 100 years. Without antibiotics, we could not have been survived long enough for other inventions.