When computers first appeared on the scene, it was thought they would make us more productive in providing goods and services, smarter and possibly happier. Skeptics claim that the opposite is true as computers have proved disappointing in terms of productivity, and have made us less happy and more stupid because information is not knowledge. Which of these points of view do you agree with most? Support your argument with reasons and/or examples from your own experience and observations.

Introduction of computers into the common mans’ life was widely believed to increase the productivity in the manufacturing field and people will become smarter and have a happier life, whereas skeptics acclaim that computers have proved otherwise. In my opinion, computers have improved the productivity as well as made our life easier in a number of ways.

Current technology and innovations developed with the help of computers have largely improved the manufacturing systems thereby increasing the productivity at an immense rate. The automotive industry is an appropriate example for the automaton processes which have reduced the man power required in the industry to a huge extent. The development in space research is yet another example for the computer era. Our predecessors could not have fathomed the period when man would reach the farthest points of the universe.

However, in some scenarios, it can be judged that computers have made people less smarter, since much of the common human chores and practices have been automated resulting in the public becoming lazier by day. This, in fact is not a permanent effect, but can be avoided with proper intervention and awareness by the authorities.

In conclusion, computers have made people less smarter, though these effects are negligible compared to the giant development in technology which the mankind has made with the help of computers.