When computers first appeared on the scene, it was thought they would make us more productive in providing goods and services, smarter and possibly happier. Skeptics believe that the opposite is true as the computer has proved disappointing in terms of productivity, and have made us less happy and more stupid because the information is not knowledge.

An Important point to remember here that these opinions were voiced when computers were in their infancy, and now, with the passage of time, we should have a clearer picture.

It is not simply a case of either/or. These days most of us find computers indispensable, whether at work, or at home, and they do speed up certain daily routines – for example, doing your shopping online. On the other hand, a lot of time is wasted on such things as playing games and unnecessary personal communications- this time could be better spend. On a larger scale, in terms of big business and industry, computerized manufacturing and automated assembly lines have greatly increased production.

However, this too has its downside, as many jobs are lost as a result. Whether computers make us smarter or happier is, again, not easy to answer definitively. It is claimed that playing computer games improves certain skills: this may be so, but there is no doubt that spending excessive amounts of time alone at the computer can damage your health and relationships, as well as take time away from other beneficial activities such as reading, socializing, playing sports, and so on. However, there is no denying that using computers does make at least some people happy.

While I find it hard to give a definite opinion on whether or not computers make us more productive, smarter and happier, I agree entirely with the opinion that information is not knowledge. Given that it is so easy to turn to the computer when we want to find something out, we no longer feel the need to learn things. This does seem to be a loss, both at an individual level and for society as a whole.