Any type of assessment is required in the education system either written, oral or grading assessment to assess the learning of the student. In my opinion, the written exam is a good option to assess a student's progress. In the following paragraphs, I will discuss it in detail.

Firstly, due to the written assessment student develop a sitting habit that can help them in their career. And also it improves the concentration of students. By this teachers can cross-check what and how much students are able to grasp the concepts and where they need improvement. As per a study conducted by the scholars of The University of Sydney over a period of 10 years they found that students who appear written exams have a better IQ level over other students which appear only in the oral exam.

In addition, in the case of written exam students have an option of re-evaluation if they feel marks are not as per their expectation. But in other assessments this not possible. Also in the oral exam or in the grading system, a teacher can favour their favourite students but in the written exam, it's not possible or has fewer chances.

Overall, we can say that written exam assessments have many advantages as discussed in the above paragraphs.