Nowadays, it becomes a practice in every organisation to involve its employees in the decision-making process of their products and services. This practice has some advantages and disadvantages. In the following paragraphs, I will discuss it in detail.

To begin with, let's discuss the advantages first. First and foremost advantage is that by this employees feel an attachment with the organisation and they feel that management care about them and respect their opinion as well. Another advantage is that the company receive different ideas as everyone have different thinking so the company can choose the idea which best suits the requirement. For example, at Google, every employee is free to work on his or her research and development project and many of its products are invented by its employees during his or her research only.

However, on the other hand, it has some disadvantages as well, like sometimes a person can theft a new idea and sell it to another company in the market. Another type of theft can be related to intellectual property theft like in case of medical research, someone can sell the new invention to another organisation to make some quick money. For example, last year Sun Pharma company filed a case against an employee for intellectual property theft and due to that, they lost millions of dollars.

Overall, I can say that it becomes a global practice to involve employees in decision making but as discussed in the above paragraphs it has its own advantages and disadvantages. But advantages are more beneficial for organisations so we can say overall its beneficial for any company.