In the education system, assessment through formal examination are still valid.

The importance of students’ assessment through written examination, which has always been debated, has now more controversial. The substantial influence of formal written examination has sparked controversy over the potential impact of this tend on the way of assessing students’ knowledge in recent years. It can be agreed that end of year exam has some positive aspects but some people claim that it also has some negative effects. This essay will elaborate upon how written examination benefits to student’s future, practical knowledge, and higher level of remembering skill and thus, lead to logical conclusion.

Firstly, there are numerous reasons why formal written examinations are necessary to assess students but the most important one lies from the fact that written assessments help to improve students’ writing and memorising skills which will help to gain benefits in future such as professional jobs. For example, international studies have repeatedly shown that students with good writing skill can easily make good impression at their workplace. Therefore, students need to be assessed by the written examination.

On the contrary, some people have adopted an opposing view that it doesn’t a reflect the true abilities of students as their hard work of their whole year depends on a single day’s performance. One day exam could be affected by any domestic problems, illness or stress. As an illustration, a talented student may not be able to perform up to the mark in the examination as it changes the ability of the student due to extra stress and working under pressure’ according to a startling new research. Thus, students should be evaluated by as set of different methods rather than only written examination.

From what has been discussed above, it can be concluded that formal written examination can be more prominent although it has a number of drawbacks that should be well handled.