Environmental problems are too great to be managed by individuals so real change can only be managed at government level. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Support your point of view with reasons and / or examples from your own experiences.

The problem of environmental pollution can now be only dealt by governments rather than individuals. Some people think that environmental issues can be better managed at individual level while others maintain that environmental matters can only be addressed by the government. This essay will discuss why government needs to pay special attention to maintain a healthy environment.

Firstly, environmental hazards and problems have become global and efforts by the government are mandatory to overcome this alarming issue. In this regard, additional check and balance, revision of laws and imposing of taxes on violators as well as defaulters is to be ensured by the government. As an example, legislative bodies should impose heave amount of taxes on industries polluting the air near urban areas. As a result, strict laws and close monitoring by the government can result in decrease of environmental issues.

On the other hand, individual efforts to combat environmental issues are not at all sufficient. Therefore, personal actions are required to be monitored and observed at government or higher level. For instance, a governing body is required to ensure that an individual gets his car engine checked on regular basis to ensure that it is not polluting the air. Hence, it is evident that personal level endeavors are not sufficient to address this alarming issue.

To conclude, I opine that owing to the ever increasing environmental problems, governments should take into account several steps to maintain a healthy and balanced environment for its citizens.