Experience is a more effective way to teach compared to books. Do you agree or disagree?

The importance experiential versus traditional education, which was always debatable, has now become more controversial. The substantial influence of experiential learning in creating well-rounded individuals has sparked controversy over the potential effect of this trend on institutionalised learning models in recent years. It can be agreed that both learning styles have a great impact, yet both have their drawbacks. This essay will elaborate on the effectiveness of “learning through doing” versus learning through written material, and how a combination of the two is essential in creating adaptable adults with transferable skills, and thus it will lead to a logical conclusion.

At the outset, there are numerous reasons why a combination of experiential and traditional learning models is the ideal scenario, but the most conspicuous one stems from the fact that this combination builds resilience, confidence, and know-how in learners because it is a well-rounded approach, which is preferable to simply learning through hands-on experience (limiting in terms of literacy and numeracy skills) or books (limiting in terms of no “real world” experiences that build more capable citizens). As an example, studies by Monash University reveal that students who receive a dual education perform better in their 20s, when life becomes uncertain and fraught with difficult life choices. A dual education, thus, plays a vital role in creating versatile individuals.

However, it has some drawbacks and some people tend to believe that a traditional education is preferable, as it fosters strong intellects and prepares students for the reality of a cut-throat, academically biased world. As an example, studies reveal that employers recruit based on academic performance alone. Experiential education, hence, is not always recognised as a valid form of education.

In conclusion, the push towards a dual education is compelling, however, it has some drawbacks that should not be overlooked.