The illiterate of the 21st century will not be those who cannot read and write, but those who cannot learn, unlearn,

and relearn” – Alvin Toffle. What do you understand from Alvin’s statement? Elaborate on your understanding and support your point of view with details from your own experiences, observations or reading.

In the 21st century, they will not just be illiterates, those who can not read and write. This century, the meaning of literacy has changed and its level became higher than writing and reading. for the purpose of this essay, I would discuss some of the science that a literate person should know about them.

To begin with, the literacy has become very different from past century because of new methods of living influenced by new technologies. the base of this technologies is the computer. By the computer replaced the traditional style of working with new methods. For example, the new method in the business is electronic commerce and this kind of business needs to computer systems. So, everyone should learn to work with the computer.

In addition, another one differences of literacy in this century is learning the new methods of communication. With the advent of the internet, old means of communication such as letter and fax have been abandoned. For instance, instead of fax and letter, people should learn how to send a text or a document by Email and learn to work with the social networks.

In conclusion, while there are several compelling arguments on illiteracy and literacy in the 21st century, my personal sentiment is that by learning the sciences of the computer and internet, everyone can have the minimum level of literacy that needs in this century.