"The illiterates of the 21st century are not those who cannot read and write, but those who cannot learn"- Alvin Toffler. Explain the statement and do you agree or disagree.

Nowadays the illiteracy and learning have become a long-running dispute among the public all over the world, which leads to a moot question “whether those who cannot read and write are illiterate or those who cannot learn?”. It is a widely held view that learning new methods is highly beneficial, whereas I tend to believe that one must weigh up carefully the pros and cons of this issue.

To begin with, it is a common belief that learning plays a vital role in the fast-changing world than writing and reading. To put into consideration, I express several reasons why I support this issue. First and foremost is that since we have been living in a developing world it is necessary to learn how to use novel technologies. Secondly, it is quite clear that you are not able to utilize intelligent devices just with writing or reading. In addition to this information, a group of scientists, working at a prestigious university conducted that just by reading or writing it would be impossible to use progressive devices, such as ATM or computer.

However, there is no doubt that learning instead of reading and writing provides people with various negative points. It should be taken into account that reading and writing had been the basis of all science. Moreover, it is quite clear that without having an adequate skill of reading you are not able to learn anything.

To recapitulate, I entirely agree that in addition to writing and reading learning as an integral part of literacy must be taken into consideration. However, as every garden may have some weeds, the local authorities are recommended to enforce stricter legislation, and individuals are hoped to heighten their intellect.