With the increase of digital media available online, the role of the library has become obsolete. Universities should only procure digital media rather than constantly updating textbooks. Discuss both the advantages and disadvantages of this position and give your own point of view.

There is no doubt that universities should only procure digital media rather than constantly updating textbooks. Some people point that universities should only procure digital media rather than constantly updating textbooks, whereas others would believe that universities should not only procure digital media rather than constantly updating textbooks. Personally speaking, I strongly believe that every coin has double sides, but the advantages of procuring digital media of universities’ library rather than constantly updating textbooks outweighs the disadvantage.

The key benefit of purchasing digital media of universities’ library rather than constantly updating textbooks is that it can save universities’ updating costs, which is obvious because there is no updating costs and buying new series of books for universities’ library. To further support the above statement, a famous scientists argued that most universities’ library save updating costs and do not buy new series books by purchasing digital media of universities’ library rather than constantly updating textbooks.

On the other hand, it is arguable that purchasing digital media of universities’ library rather than constantly updating textbooks also has negative impact, which is reasonable because it is harmful to students eyesight due to long exposure to electronic devices. However, this drawback is minimal compared to the benefits, which can be established by a resent study by Oxford University which stated that 76% of people stated purchasing digital media of universities’ library rather than constantly updating textbooks can be more beneficial than harmful.

With all the points above, the conclusion can be made that universities procure digital media rather than constantly updating textbooks that can bring more positive effect than negative, because universities can save updating costs. In this regard, it is important that governments should devote more power and sufficient funding to improve the situation.