With the increase of digital media available online, the role of the library has become obsolete. University should provide digital material rather than textbooks. Discuss both the advantages and disadvantages of this position and give your own point of v

One of the most conspicuous trends of today’s world is the increase of digital media available online. There is widespread worry that this would only lead to a myriad of concerns in the society. The substantial influence of the digital media compared to textbooks has sparked the potential impact of this trend on society in recent years. Intriguingly, however, some people believe that such an approach can be negative. This essay will give assertion on both sides of the contention before deducing reasonable conclusion.

There is a deluge of arguments in favor of but the most preponderant one stems from the fact that digital media information is highly accessible. In this context, it is worth mentioning that it will enhance student’s productivity. For example, the study results published by the education department in March 2012 clearly, indicate that the use of digital media is very important and critical. All these benefits stand mankind in good stead when digital media over textbooks is concerned.

There are, however, some pitfalls that can overwhelm the potential benefits of the digital media accessible online. The most alarming one is rooted because the textbook use will extinct and student’s reliability on information will decrease. For example, the studies conducted by a department of education in December 2010 reveal that we should always consider the digital media will lead to the extinction of textbook learning. All these above discussed reasons have strong impact on the society, an individual’s lives. Hence, it is apparent why many are in favor of the digital media in contrast to textbooks.

In the view of the arguments outlined above, it can be confidently stated that, apart from negatives there are numerous associated positive aspects of the increase of digital media available online, which are of great social and individual significance.