With the increases of digital media available online, the role of the library has become obsolete. Universities should only procure digital media rather than constantly updating textbooks. Discuss both the advantages and disadvantages of this position and give your own point of view.

The importance of digital media, which was always debatable, has now become more controversial. The substantial influence of digital media has sparked controversy over the potential impact of this trend on whole students in recent years. It can be agreed that digital media play a vital role, though it has drawbacks. This essay will elaborate on how digital media can save natural resources and how e-books require extra hardware money, and thus lead to a logical conclusion.

At the outset, there are numerous reasons why the universities should be procured digital media rather than constantly updating textbooks, but the most conspicuous one stems from the fact that digital media save natural resources, which directly influences the environment of the world. As an illustration, research has invariably revealed that deforestation in China have dramatically decreased five times compared with four years ago after digital media has been introduced to students. Therefore, digital media should be used more frequently rather than updating textbooks for universities.

Nevertheless, some people adopt an opposing view and tend to believe that digital media also has some disadvantages as there are innumerable reasons for that but the most salient one is that e-books require hardware which costs money. For instance, the Hong Kong university spends more than five million dollars to update the hardware of e-books in order to offer comprehensive digital media to students for their study.

In conclusion, from what has been discussed above, I think it can be concluded that the impact of digital media on students is prominent, although the tradition textbooks should be well handled.