Recent innovations and development in the field of the information revolution has impacted many areas of human lives including mass communications. Traditional methods of paper, radio, and TV-based mass media communications have been replaced by more advanced and dynamic forms of media called social or internet media. Proponents are debating over this phenomenon, many are in favor of the spread of such medium due to paramount benefits it has to offer. However, others have opposite views highlighting its detrimental impact. To some extent, I agree with the later view and will discuss the same in this article.

To begin with, the new mode of mass communications like online or social media has enormous benefits to offer. First, it gives power to all section of the society to express their views on pressing issues, moreover, such online issues some time generate positive movement globally. For instance, an important cause such as inclusive equal growth of both genders including equal pay has left some positive influence worldwide, due to which we have seen an increasing elevation of women leaders incorporates and government.

On the other hand, there are negligible side effects of mass communication. It is difficult to judge the authenticity of the information shared on such platform which can create panic and unrest for individuals and for the society as well. For example, in many cases, such an online medium of communication was able to spread hate crimes by inspiring false radical views.

In conclusion, from the above examples and according to me, although, the information revolution has changed the way of mass communications, traditional media are also equal popular due to their authenticity.