In social conversation both talking and listening play an important role to communicate without any barrier. It is believed by some that being a good listener is better than a skillful talker. I agree with this notion, despite the quality of a better talker who can explain any thought and idea without any hesitation, it is the listening trait of a person makes conversation fruitful. This essay will discuss aforementioned points and offer logical conclusion.

To begin with, there are several reasons why being a skillful listener is considered better than a talker but the most conspicuous on stems from the fact that listening involves the understanding of facts of a person who speaks in a talk.

To cite an example, there are many occasion when a person asks question to a speaker in a meeting and speaker starts answering the question which is completely opposite. So a good listener has the ability to understand the context and talk of a person and this allows listener to respond in an appropriate way.

However, It has to be admitted that smooth communication with others can be of vital importance, and one argument in favor of this view can be that without the ability to effectively convey his or her mind, an individual may not achieve success career or social life. If people gets to know how to express themselves in an effective way, then they may stand better chance of clarifying themselves and avoid misunderstanding, in turn leading to greater potential to succeed in workplace. Given this, it is unsurprising that understanding how to interact and communicate with others enables people to have better future prospects.

In conclusion, despite the fact that the counter argument may hold true in many cases, I feel affirmative on the advantages of being a good listener.