Large shopping malls are replacing small shops. What is your opinion about this?
Discuss with appropriate examples.
One of the most conspicuous trends of today’s world is a colossal upsurge in the mall culture, as shopping
malls have evolved into multi-storied structures housing a large number of stores that sell diverse products
and services. There is a widespread worry that this will only lead to a myriad of problems in consumers’ life.
In my opinion, this apprehension is unwarranted and so should be rejected.
There are a number of arguments in favour of my stance. The most preponderant one is that shopping
malls house a collection of retail stores and restaurants along with a plenty of parking space. Not only do
shopping malls eliminate parking problem by providing parking either free of charge or for a nominal fee,
but they also contribute a great deal to making shopping convenient with such stores as groceries, shoes,
food courts and the like under one roof. Needless to say, all these merits stand consumers in good stead, as
far as eliminating shopping hassle is concerned.
There are, however, some pitfalls that can easily overwhelm the potential benefits of shopping malls.
Primarily, they include excessive crowding, especially on weekends and holidays. Besides, crowded aisles
and stores make shopping very difficult and people often end up forgetting items they needed to buy. Last
but not least, the temptation to browse is always present, and browsing often leads to buying things that
are not needed, thus making it difficult to keep to a monthly budget.
In view of the arguments outlined above, one can conclude that despite some drawbacks, the benefits of
big shopping complexes are indeed too great to ignore.